Sixteen Counties in Region Report New COVID-19 Cases

Sixteen Counties in Region Report New COVID-19 Cases

SPRINGFIELD – The Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) Monday reported 3,113 new confirmed cases of COVID-19, including 22 additional deaths. Also Monday, sixteen southern Illinois counties reported their respective cases.

Governor JB Pritzker and IDP announced COVID-19 resurgence mitigations to be implemented Thursday in Region 5, which includes several southern Illinois counties.

Currently, IDPH is reporting a total of 347,161 cases, including 9,236 deaths, in 102 counties.

Local case breakdown:

  • Randolph County: 40 (Saturday-Monday)
  • Jefferson County: 25 (Saturday-Monday)
  • Union County: 17
  • Williamson County: 11 cases, one death at a long-term care facility
  • Perry County: 11 (Saturday-Monday)
  • Johnson County: 10
  • Hamilton County: nine
  • Pulaski County: eight
  • Franklin County: seven
  • White County: five
  • Massac and Wayne counties: four each
  • Alexander and Gallatin counties: three each
  • Saline County: two
  • Jackson County: one

The preliminary seven-day statewide positivity rate regarding total tests from Oct. 12-18 is 5.4 percent.

Photo Gallery