Dana Withers Named 2018 Illinois Broadcaster of the Year

Dana Withers Named 2018 Illinois Broadcaster of the Year

SPRINGFIELD — The Illinois Broadcasters Association has bestowed their most prestigious award upon a local broadcaster.

Dana Withers is the 2018 recipient of the IBA/Vincent T. Wasilewski Broadcaster of the Year award.

Withers is the president of Withers Broadcasting and Dana Communications, owner of this station and many others in the region.  Withers is a past chairman and current trustee of the Illinois Broadcasters Association, began her career in broadcasting upon graduation from Colorado Mesa University. Soon after she founded Dana Communications Corporation. In addition to her work with the Illinois Broadcasters’ Association, Withers has served as a trustee on the board of the National Association of Broadcasters and is currently a trustee of NAB’s Political Action Committee.

“Dana is the consummate local broadcaster,” remarked Dennis Lyle, president and CEO of the Illinois Broadcasters Association when announcing Withers was the 2018 recipient of IBA’s most prestigious award. “From high school sports to local parades and festivals to local news, listeners count on Dana’s stations to be a strong supportive voice in their community.”

The presentation of the award will be during the Chairman’s Dinner Tuesday, June 5, at the Illinois Broadcasters Association’s annual summer conference at the Marriott Hotel and Convention Center in Normal. Withers is the second in her family to receive the award after her father, the late W. Russell Withers Jr., received the award in 2005.

The award serves the namesake of Illinois native and 18th NAB president Vincent T. Wasilewski in an effort to honor Illinois Broadcasters who share his passion and dedication to the broadcast industry. The recognition is for broadcast excellence both in Illinois and the entire industry as well as respect from their peers locally and nationally in addition to creating a favorable legislative climate for broadcasters.

Withers Broadcasting and Dana Communications operate 31 stations in southern Illinois, southeast Missouri, and western Kentucky.

Photo Gallery